Frederick County Council General Election Round-Up

Frederick County Council will see several new faces for the incoming term.

seal of Frederick County MarylandThe Frederick County Council includes seven members — five are elected by district and two are elected county-wide.


Incumbent Philip Dacey leads for an at-large member seat with 26.58 percent of the vote. Tony Chmelik is ahead for the second at-large seat with 26.47 percent of the vote. Democrats Brad Young and Renee Knapp closely trail with 24.45 percent and 22.43 percent of the vote so far, respectively.

District 1

Republican John A. Distel beat incumbent Jerry Donald  for the District 1 seat, with 53.22 percent and 46.75 percent of the vote, respectively.

District 2

Republican incumbent Steven J. McKay won reelection to the District 2 seat, taking 60.14 percent of the vote over Democratic candidate Lisa Jarosinski who won 39.78% of the vote.

District 3

Democratic incumbent and MACo Board Member M.C. Keegan-Ayer won reelection to the District 3 seat 60.28 percent of the vote. Keegan-Ayer beat out Shelly Aloi who secured 39.56 percent of the vote.

District 4

Democrat Kavonte Duckett has decisively won the District 4 seat over Republican John Fer, with 57.09 percent and 42.74 percent of the vote, respectively. Notably, District 4 saw the most candidates running for either party during the July primary.

District 5

Republican Mason Carter has decisively won the District 5 seat over Democrat Julianna Lufkin, with 70.12 percent and 29.75 percent of the vote, respectively.

MACo’s election coverage and analysis rely on unofficial results published by the State Board of Elections. Official results will follow after a full accounting of pending votes. MACo advises readers that any close unofficial results are subject to realignment in the days ahead.