Hogan Announces Additional $10M in Grants for Maryland Schools

Governor Larry Hogan and the Maryland State Department of Education today announced $10 million in grant awards to support schools as the COVID-19 pandemic continues to impact education in Maryland.

The announced funding will provide $1 million grants to 10 programs in order to address the needs of at-risk students and support innovative education solutions. Awarded through the federal Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act (CRRSA), the funding will provide grants to local school systems and nonpublic schools that demonstrate unique strategies to address academic accessibility as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Hogan directed a portion of the funding to at-risk students through the Governor’s Emergency Education Relief II (GEER II) Fund.

From the press release:

“An essential part of Maryland’s recovery depends on giving every single child in Maryland the ability to safely return for in-person learning,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “These funds will help provide support for our students who have suffered most in the pandemic, and help address learning loss experienced during virtual learning.”

“During this unprecedented time, we are focused on keeping classrooms safe and accessible to all students and addressing the academic and socio-emotional challenges that have arisen due to COVID-19,” said Karen B. Salmon, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools. “We are happy to support these innovative efforts by our partners to maintain connections between educators and students as we move forward.”

Grant recipients were selected for presenting creative strategies to support disengaged students, students with disabilities, teachers, and families in need. Projects include initiatives such as mentor and mental health programs, personalized academic support, and expanded re-engagement.

Grant recipients include: Baltimore City Public Schools; Carroll County Public Schools; Children’s Guild; Harford County Public Schools; Montgomery County Public Schools; Prince George’s County Public Schools; Queen Anne’s County Public Schools; Reid Temple Christian Academy; Wicomico County Public Schools; and Worcester County Public Schools.

Read full press release.

Stay tuned to Conduit Street for the latest.