Half of Maryland’s Counties Fail to Meet EPA Ozone Standards

A National Association of Counties (NACo) County News article (2018-05-08) reported that the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) released a final list of counties that have failed to meet its new National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for Ozone. Out of 209 nine counties in 22 states, 12 of Maryland’s counties failed the meet the new standards, all with a nonattainment classification of “marginal.” From the article:

The new ozone NAAQS was approved in 2015 and tightened the current ozone standard of 75 parts per billion (ppb), last set in 2008, to 70 ppb. Under the list, 209 counties in 22 states are considered to be in nonattainment under the new 70 ppb standard. According to EPA, designations were made based on the most recent three years of certified ozone air quality monitoring data from 2014-2016, as well as recommendations by the states. …

Ozone designations can have a significant impact on county governments, as states and counties serve as co-regulators of CAA standards with the federal government and are ultimately responsible for ensuring that legislation’s goals are achieved and our constituents are protected. …

NACo has previously called on EPA to delay implementation of the 2015 ozone standards until the 75 ppb standard set in 2008 can be fully analyzed for impact, and will continue to work closely with Congress and the Trump Administration to craft clear, concise and workable rules that take into account the role of counties as key regulatory partners with the federal government.

Maryland Counties on the list included: Anne Arundel, Baltimore City, Baltimore County, Calvert, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, and Prince George’s.

Useful Links

EPA Summary of Counties Failing NAAQS for Ozone

EPA Full List and Explanation of Counties Failing NAAQS for Ozone