Governor Hogan Appoints Members of the Opioid Restitution Fund Advisory Council

The Opioid Restitution Fund (ORF) Advisory Council will provide recommendations for the usage of opioid legal settlement funds that, to date, total almost $400M and counting. 

pills tumble from a prescription bottleIn a press release, Governor Larry Hogan announced six appointments to the Opioid Restitution Fund (ORF) Advisory Council. The advisory council, which was established this year with the passage of House Bill 794, will work to provide recommendations on the use of prescription opioid legal settlement funds awarded to the State of Maryland.

The first meeting of the ORF Advisory Council took place yesterday afternoon. A link to their agenda and information about future meetings can be found here.

Many additional officials serve on the advisory council, including the Maryland Association of Counties designee, and Cecil County Health Officer, Lauren Levy, JD, MPH.

The Governor’s appointees to the ORF Advisory Council include:

Howard Ashkin – Mr. Ashkin is the director of admissions and community engagement with MedMark Treatment Centers and Glass Health Programs, Inc.

Meghan O’Brien Westwood – Ms. Westwood is the executive director of Maryland Treatment Centers, Inc. In this role, she oversees a full continuum of Substance Use Disorder Treatment Services throughout central Maryland.

Marcus D. Webster – Mr. Webster is a certified peer recovery specialist and program advocate with Voices of Hope, Inc., a community organization that supports individuals in recovery.

Kristin Thomas – Ms. Thomas is a peer recovery specialist with Maryland Area Health Education Center (AHEC) West.

Tiffinee Scott – Ms. Scott is the president of the Maryland Peer Advisory Council and is a recovery community organizer for the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence.

Carlos Hardy – Mr. Hardy is the founder and chief executive officer of Maryland Recovery Organization Connecting Communities.

Read the full press release.