Nominations Open for Maryland Preservation Awards

The Maryland Historical Trust has begun accepting nominations for the 2022 Maryland Preservation Awards. 

Since 1975 the Board of Trustees of the Maryland Historical Trust has presented the Maryland Preservation Awards. These awards are the highest level of recognition for historic preservation, heritage education, and community development projects in Maryland. The awards honor and celebrate significant achievements by individuals, businesses, contractors, non-profit organizations, local governments, and others who protect, promote, share, and give continued life to the historic places and cultural heritage that make Maryland unique.

According to the Maryland Historical Trust: 

Awards are presented in four categories.

Leadership and Service

Awards presented for Leadership and Service recognize individuals and organizations for laudable activities or accomplishments that advance the public’s appreciation, understanding and involvement in historic preservation or archaeology in Maryland.

Education and Community Engagement

Awards presented for Education and Community Engagement recognize outstanding achievements by individuals, organizations, government agencies, and others in developing and producing projects and materials that educate and engage with Maryland’s past.


Stewardship awards recognize outstanding effort and intent toward the maintenance and preservation of historic properties by individuals, businesses, organizations, and government agencies of all types and sizes. These awards acknowledge the hard work, time, effort, money, and dedication that are often required to maintain and preserve historically significant buildings and sites.

Project Excellence

Project Excellence awards are presented to property owners, project sponsors, contractors, and other entities for restoration or rehabilitation projects of all sizes, scopes, and on all types of properties. The design, materials, and workmanship of honored projects must demonstrate superlative historic preservation standards.

Read more about Maryland Preservation Awards.

Read the nomination guidelines. 

Submit a nomination.