Brian Frosh Wins Maryland Attorney General Race

[photo, Brian E. Frosh, State Senator]

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee Chair Brian Frosh (D) will become Maryland’s next Attorney General.  Frosh beat his Republican opponent, Jeffrey Pritzker, by capturing 56% of the vote.  Pritzker managed to win 41% of the vote.  Frosh won heavily in most urban areas of the State while Pritzker tended to carry rural areas. The Libertarian candidate, Leo Dymoski captured just 3% of the vote.

Frosh’s main campaign issues included: (1) protecting kids online; (2) protecting seniors from scams and preventing caregiver abuse; (3) reducing crime through community outreach, domestic and sexual abuse prevention, and juvenile justice reform; (4) enforcing environmental laws, especially those related to water and air pollution; and (5) protecting consumers from unfair business practices and fraud.

Frosh’s election victory follows his democratic primary win where he captured nearly 50% of the vote in a three-way race against Maryland Delegates Jon Cardin (30% of the vote) and Aisha Braveboy (20% of the vote).

Frosh has been in the Maryland Senate since 1995 and has chaired the Judicial Proceedings Committee since 2003.  With his pending departure from the General Assembly, there has been speculation about who will replace him as Committee chair, with most of the attention centering on Montgomery County Senator Jamie Raskin (D) and Baltimore County Senator Bobby Zirkin (D).

Vote totals and percentages in this article are based on unofficial results of the Maryland State Board of Elections including early voting and 1981 out of 1986 reporting precincts from Election Day. Absentee and provisional ballots are not included.

State Board of Elections 2014 Results

Media Links

Democratic State Sen. Brian Frosh Elected Maryland Attorney General (Washington Post, Nov 4)

Photo from Maryland Manual On-Line