As reported in the Boston Globe, Governor Deval Patrick signed into law a bill raising the minimum wage from $8 to $11 per hour by 2017, setting Massachusetts on course to have the highest minimum wage of any state in the country. As described,
The law will incrementally raise the state hourly minimum wage by one dollar a year. So it will be $9 on Jan. 1, 2015; $10 at the beginning of 2016 and $11 on Jan. 1, 2017.
Tipped workers will also see their wage floor go up from $2.63 to $3.75 per hour by 2017 under the law. Among other provisions, the law also includes changes to the state’s unemployment insurance system aimed at lowering costs for businesses.
Maryland raised the minimum wage this year to $10.10 by July 1, 2018.
For more information on Massachusetts’s wage law, see the full story from the Globe, and our previous post on Conduit Street, 2014 Legislative Wrap-Up: Employee Benefits & Relations, or read the text of Maryland’s new law.