MACo to See Leadership Changes

As  previously reported following the primary election, three Executive Committee positions and five Board positions will be changing hands in January 2011.  Following the general election, another position has been added to the ranks for a total of nine.  MACo’s Immediate Past President and President of the Calvert County Board of Commissioners Wilson Parran was defeated yesterday in the general election.

Commissioner Parran has been a member of the MACo Board since 2007 and has served as one of MACo’s representatives on the National Association of Counties (NACo) Board of Directors.  He has served as County Commissioner since 2002.

Other Board members not returning include:

  • Anne Arundel County Council member Cathy Vitale, who ran a successful race for the House of Delegates in District 33A
  • Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith and St. Mary’s County Commissioner Tom Mattingly who could not seek re-election due to term limits
  • Frederick County Commissioner Jan Gardner who decided not to seek re-election
  • Allegany County Commissioner Bob Hutcheson, Garrett County Commissioner Fred Holiday, and Charles County Commissioner Edith Patterson, who were defeated in the primary election

Harford County Executive and MACo President, David Craig, was successful in his re-election bid, but will transition to Immediate Past President in January 2011.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.