Anne Arundel Delegate Race May Promote Council Member Pruski

Anne Arundel County Council Member Andrew Pruski is ahead in the Democratic primary race for District 33A, but with mail-in ballots yet to be counted, the race is too close to call.

District 4 Council Member Andrew Pruski leads Marguerite Morris and Michael Sopata in the Democratic primary to represent District 33A in the Maryland House of Delegates. According to unofficial early voting and election day results, Pruski has 47 percent of the vote, Morris sits at 39 percent, and Sopata has 14 percent.

The winner will face Republican Kim Mills, who ran unopposed in the District 33A Republican primary, in the general election on November 8.

State Board of Elections (7/20/2022, 10:00 am)


= = = = =

Please note that vote counts are incomplete. Election officials still have to count mail-in and provisional ballots. For context, more than 500,000 Marylanders requested a mail-in ballot for this year’s primary, and those remaining votes are likely to be material to many contested races. However, local boards of elections cannot begin to canvass mail-in votes until Thursday, July 21. Therefore, for editorial purposes, MACo coverage will describe any races where the top runner-up remains within 10 percent of the apparent winner(s) as “pending” and those results as “apparent.”

MACo’s election coverage and analysis rely on unofficial results published by the State Board of Elections. Official results will follow after a full accounting of pending votes. Given delays in processing an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots, MACo advises readers that any close unofficial results are subject to realignment in the days ahead.