County Executive Pittman Sends Police Accountability Board Nominations to County Council

This week, Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman nominated eight residents to serve on the County’s state-mandated Police Accountability Board. The nominations are subject to County Council approval.

“I want to thank the 89 residents who submitted applications to serve on this board. It shows our community’s dedication to justice and integrity,” County Executive Steuart Pittman said. “I am confident those nominated will serve our County faithfully and help us grow trust and engagement between our police officers and the communities they serve and protect.”

According to a County press release:

The County Executive nominated the following eight residents:

  • Dr. Shawn Ashworth, educator and nonprofit leader

  • Barney Gomez, retired Special Agent and Vietnam veteran

  • Kymberly Jackson, attorney and law professor

  • Sarah Kivett, employee conduct investigator and former law enforcement officer

  • Dr. Kenneth Moore, pastor, professor, and retired firefighter

  • Jeannette Ortiz (chair), law and education policy expert

  • Daniel Watkin, Board-certified Nurse Executive and behavioral health professional

  • Ann Williams-Kinard, local business owner

The Council will consider the nominations on June 21, 2022.

Visit the Anne Arundel County website for more information.