Anne Arundel Extends Public Safety Officers’ Property Tax Credit

Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman this week signed legislation to extend the duration of a property tax credit for public safety officers from five to ten years. The legislation, introduced by Council Member Andrew Pruski, passed the Anne Arundel County Council by unanimous vote.

Photo courtesy of Anne Arundel County Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #70

Chapter 686 of 2017 authorizes county and municipal governments to grant a property tax credit for dwellings owned by specified public safety officers. The amount of the property tax credit may not exceed $2,500, and the amount of property tax imposed on the dwelling.

County and municipal governments may establish, by law, the amount of the property tax credit, the duration of the property tax credit, and additional eligibility requirements for public safety officers to qualify for the property tax credit.

Visit the Anne Arundel County website for more information.