Nominees Named for Blueprint Accountability and Implementation Board

A special nominating committee has concluded its work, recommending nine nominees to Governor Hogan to be selected for the Blueprint Accountability and Implementation Board. The Governor must select seven of the nominees to serve.

A central facet of the recently-enacted Blueprint for Maryland, a 10-year plan to enhance education funding and expectations, is a new Accountability and Implementation Board to ensure that the plan moves toward its intended goals.

The formal process for its creation was spelled out in the legislation, and today marked a major step. The Nominating Committee, formed weeks ago, has concluded its work and has unanimously submitted its list of nine recommended members to the Governor, who has 30 days to select seven members to serve from among that list.

Notable on the list of nominees are William “Brit” Kirwan, who chaired the Commission leading to the landmark legislation, and Isiah Leggett, former Montgomery County Executive and MACo President.

The full letter, issued by the Nominating Committee and including supporting details on the nominees, follows below:

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties
Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: