MD Senate Republicans Announce Caucus Leadership

Senate Minority Leader Bryan Simonaire and Senate Minority Whip Michael Hough today announced caucus leadership positions for the upcoming 2021 Legislative Session.

As previously reported on Conduit Street, the Maryland Senate Republican Caucus in October elected Senator Simonaire as Minority Leader and Senator Hough as Minority Whip after Senators J.B. Jennings and Stephen Hershey — the longest-serving leadership team in the history of the Caucus — announced that they would not seek re-election to their respective leadership posts.

“Our Caucus is a team of exceptional legislators and professionals who bring their diversity of experience to their work in the Maryland Senate,” said Senate Minority Leader Bryan Simonaire. “We are proud to have the following members in caucus leadership roles as we work to amplify the minority voice in the Legislature and work within our two-party system for the benefit of all Marylanders.”

Senate Republican Caucus Leadership

Senate Minority Leader: Senator Bryan Simonaire (Anne Arundel County)
Senate Minority Whip: Senator Michael Hough (Frederick & Carroll Counties)
Senate Republican Caucus Chair: Senator George Edwards (Garrett, Allegany, & Washington Counties)
Assistant Minority Leader: Senator Ed Reilly (Anne Arundel County)
Caucus Parliamentarian: Senator Chris West (Baltimore County)
Caucus Chaplain: Senator Johnny Ray Salling (Baltimore County)

Policy & Communications Chair: Senator Mary Beth Carozza (Somerset, Wicomico, & Worcester Counties)

Senate Committee Ranking Members

Budget & Taxation Committee Ranking Member: Senator George Edwards
Education, Health, & Environmental Affairs Committee Ranking Member: Senator Jason Gallion (Harford & Cecil Counties)
Finance Committee Ranking Member: Senator J.B. Jennings (Baltimore &Harford Counties)

Judicial Proceedings Committee Ranking Member: Senator Bob Cassilly (Harford County)

Stay tuned to Conduit Street for more information.

Useful Links

Previous Conduit Street Coverage: MD Senate GOP Caucus Elects New Leadership

Previous Conduit Street Coverage: Senators Jennings, Hershey to Leave GOP Caucus Leadership Posts