Veto Overrides Among Early Session Business

The 2020 General Assembly session, beginning today, will include deliberation over several bills vetoed by the Governor following the 2019 session.

2017-01-06-16_53_03-maryland-state-house-Google-Search-and-11-more-pages-E2808E-Microsoft-EdgeA number of 2019 bills, since vetoed by Governor Hogan, will gather consideration for a potential override in the early stages of this year’s session. A list of the pending vetoed bills was read across the House floor on the session’s opening day, January 8:

January 8, 2020
Calendar of Vetoed House Bills No. 2

HB0066 Delegate Stein Environment and Transportation
Railroad Company – Movement of Freight – Required Crew

HB0262 Delegate Luedtke Appropriations
Higher Education – Tuition Rates – Exemptions

HB0720 Delegate Barve Environment and Transportation
Natural Resources – Fishery Management Plans – Oysters

HB0891 Delegate Haynes Appropriations
State Personnel – Grievance Procedures

HB0994 Delegate Mosby Economic Matters
Labor and Employment – Criminal Record Screening Practices (Ban the Box)

HB1281 Delegate Lierman Appropriations
Environment and Transportation
Transportation – Bikeways Network Program and Central Maryland Regional Transit Plan

(Emergency Bill) Delegate Atterbeary Judiciary
Public Safety – Handgun Permit Review Board – Repeal

A rundown of the policy issues at stake was published on the Maryland Matters website:

Six of the eight bills passed the chambers in 2019 with veto-proof majorities despite extended debates. The other two bills ― mandating a minimum number of crew members on freight trains and expanding oversight of the governor’s appointments office ― were voted on in the Senate chamber while a handful of Democrats were absent; those measures could have enough support for an override vote in that chamber this year.

Read more at Maryland Matters.

On Wednesday, the Senate scheduled debate on the vetoed bills as a special order of business for Thursday’s floor session.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties