Feds Award Funds to Carroll for Emergency Food and Shelter Program

Carroll County recently received $22,848 in federal funding through the Department of Homeland Security (DHS)/Federal Emergency Management Agency’s Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program. The funds will supplement emergency food and shelter programs in the county.

Carroll County distributes Emergency Food and Shelter Program funds to agencies that assisted with utilities, rent, and meals for Carroll residents. Eligible local agencies are encouraged to apply.

According to a press release:

The selection was made by a National Board that is chaired by the U. S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency and consists of representatives from American Red Cross; Catholic Charities, USA; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A.; The Jewish Federations of North America; The Salvation Army; and United Way Worldwide.  The Local Board was charged to distribute funds appropriated by Congress to help expand the capacity of food and shelter programs in high-need areas around the country.

The Carroll County Circle of Caring Homelessness Board will determine how the local award will be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service agencies in the area.  The Local Board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds made available under this phase of the program.

Under the terms of the grant from the National Board, local agencies chosen to receive funds must:  1) be private voluntary non-profits or units of government, 2) be eligible to receive Federal funds, 3) have an accounting system, 4) practice nondiscrimination, 5) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs, and 6) if they are a private voluntary organization, have a voluntary board.  Qualifying agencies are urged to apply.

Public or private voluntary agencies interested in applying for Emergency Food and Shelter Programs funds must contact Jennifer Quick, Local EFSP Board Chairperson, by calling 410-386-3610 or emailing jquick@carrollcountymd.gov.

Read the full press release for more information.