Kirwan Commission Gets New Senate Members, as Work Continues

The Kirwan Commission, formally the Commission on Innovation and Excellence in Education, will continue its work with two new Senate representatives.
From coverage in Maryland Matters:

Sens. William C. Ferguson IV (D-Baltimore City) and Ronald N. Young (D-Frederick) were named to the commission to replace former senators Richard S. Madaleno Jr. (D-Montgomery) and Stephen M. Waugh (R-St. Mary’s and Calvert).

The appointments were made by Senate President Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-Calvert) earlier this month.

The commission is set to meet Friday afternoon to finalize a report to the General Assembly on recommended policy changes within Maryland’s public education system. The commission has been refining recommendations to bring sweeping changes to early childhood education, career and technology programs and increased teacher salaries; the price tag for the recommendations is expected to be around $3.8 billion annually after a 10-year rollout.

The January 18 meeting is expected to develop recommendations for this year, with additional work still pending and slated for later in 2019.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties