Southern Maryland Counties Stay Blue, Red, Red

The three Southern Maryland Counties retained their single-party domination in 2018, with each of the three electing a complete slate from a single party – the same as in 2014. Charles County’s Commissioners will all be Democrats, while Calvert and St. Mary’s Counties will all be Republicans, again.

Reuben Collins returns to Charles County, newly elected as Commission President
Charles County will see new leadership, as former County Commissioner Reuben Collins returns to county elected office as the Commission President. He will be joined by two returning Commissioners in Amanda Stewart and Bobby Rucci, plus two newly elected colleagues in B.J. Bowling and Thomasina Coates.

Charles County Unofficial Results

In Calvert County, two familiar faces from state policy and politics will join the Commissioners, as Early “Buddy” Hance and Thomas “Tim” Hutchins were both elected to the Board of Commissioners. They will join returning at large Commissioner Steve Weems, returning District 1 Commissioner Mike Hart, and newly elected District 3 Commissioner Kelly McConkey.

Calvert County Unofficial Results

In St. Mary’s County, four of five Commissioners return to their roles from the prior term. Commission President Randy Guy will be joined by Commissioners Mike Hewitt, John O’Connor, and Todd Morgan. The new face among the group will be Eric Scott Colvin, newly elected from District 1.

St. Mary’s Unofficial Results

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties
Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: