Cecil Primary Round-up

In Cecil County, councilmanic districts 2, 3 and 4 are up for election in 2018. Districts 4 and 5, along with the County Executive seat, are up for election in the next election cycle.

County Council President Bowlsbey did not seek reelection for her District 2 seat, leaving a race open for two Republican candidates and one Democratic candidate, Cody Kirk. Bill Coutz beat out Richard E.  Lewandowski in the Republican primary with 3,237 votes or 65.4 percent of the vote.

Experience battled money in the remaining two district races. Newcomer Al Miller won a contested Republican primary against Council Vice President Dan Schneckenburger for District 3, with 2,735 votes or 51.8 percent of the vote. Miller had raised $32,399 through June 15, while Schneckenburger had only $8,650.

Meanwhile, incumbent Council Member George Patchell won District 4 with 2,980 votes or 59.2 percent of the vote. Larsen had raised $1,800, while Patchell had raised “little to no funds,” according to the Cecil Whig.

MACo’s election coverage and analysis relies, as always, on unofficial results published by the State Board of Elections. Official results will follow, after a full accounting of pending ballots. Given the larger-than-usual expected number of provisional ballots (which would not be included in the unofficial vote total), readers are advised that any close unofficial results are subject to realignment in the days ahead..