Some Victories and Some Losses For County Officials Seeking Other Offices

County officials who were running for other offices saw mixed results on election day.  Three were successful in their bids while two failed to win the positions they sought.

Anne Arundel County Council Member and MACo Second Vice President Cathy Vitale was the top vote getter in the House of Delegates race in District 33A, capturing almost 42% of the vote.   The other Delegate slot in 33A went to returning incumbent Tony McConkey, who received 32% of the vote.

Baltimore County Member Kevin Kamenetz captured 54% of the vote to become Baltimore County’s next County Executive.  The position was open because the outgoing Executive, Jim Smith, is term-limited.

Prince George’s County Council Member Marilynn Bland handily won her race for County Clerk of the Circuit Court against write-in candidate Linda Thomas.  Bland captured almost 99% of the vote.

Faring less well was Queen Anne’s County Commissioner Eric Wargotz, who failed to unseat incumbent U.S. Senator Barbara Mikulski.  Senator Milkulski took 62% of the vote, easily earning a fifth term.  Wargotz earned 36% of the vote.

Somerset County Commission President Michael McCready lost to Charles Otto in his bid to take the House of Delegates seat for District 38A.  McCready earned 37% of the vote to Otto’s 62%.  The Delegate seat was open because of the passing of Page Elmore.  Delegate Elmore’s wife, Carolyn, served the remainder of his term.

Note:  All vote totals and percentages are from the Maryland State Board of Elections (data last updated 2010/11/03 1:37 AM).

September 15 Conduit Street post on primary results for county officials seeking other offices

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.