Nominate Outstanding County Gov Programs for NACo Achievement Awards


The National Association of Counties (NACo) is accepting applications for its 2018 Achievement Awards.


Achievement Awards Program

The NACo Achievement Awards is a non-competitive program, the NACo Achievement Awards recognize outstanding county government programs and services in 18 categories covering a vast range of county responsibilities. The “best of category” winners will be recognized on stage at the 2018 NACo Annual Conference in July in Davidson County/Nashville, Tennessee, and all winners will be recognized in the program book and online.


County governments and state associations of counties are eligible to submit as many applications as they want. Eligible programs must have become operational after Jan. 1, 2013 and have measurable results, while having significant roles attributed to county officials and/or staff.

Program Criteria:

In order to be eligible for an Achievement Award, all
programs must meet the following criteria:

  1.  Programs must accomplish one or more of the

    • Offer new services to county residents, fill gaps in
      the availability of services, fill gaps in or tap new
      revenue sources
    • Improve the administration of an existing county
      government program
    • Upgrade the working conditions or level of
      training for county employees. Enhance the level
      of citizen participation in, or the understanding
      of, government programs
    • Provide information that facilitates effective
      public policy making
    • Promote intergovernmental cooperation and
      coordination in addressing shared problems
  2. In the case of a program that is in response to
    a federal or state law, regulation or order, the
    program must go beyond mere compliance with
    the statute, regulation or order and must display a
    creative approach to meeting those requirements.
  3. The program must have measurable results (e.g.
    cost savings, enhanced employee productivity,
    improved constituent services, created better
    intergovernmental cooperation).
  4. The program must be innovative and not rely
    on techniques or procedures that are common
    practice in most counties of similar population or
  5. All aspects of the program must be consistent
    with acceptable governmental and financial
    management practices and must promote general
    governmental accountability

Program Eligibility taken from NACo’s Achievement Awards Brochure

Submitting an Application

All applications must have the county name and page number on each page and must be submitted in PDF format. Files can be no larger than 2MB. A nomination summary must include a 200-word program abstract, a reason behind the program, description of the program, cost of the program, and results of the program.

Submit the nomination summary to the online portal.

The application fee of $100 can be paid online or by mail.

Please read NACo’s Achievement Awards Brochure for official rules and details.