Boards of Education Elect President at Annual Meeting

Donna Brightman of Washington County’s School Board will serve as the President of the Maryland Association of Boards of Education for the 2016-2017 term.

As reported by the Maryland Association of Boards of Education:

On Wednesday, October 5, 2016, school board members from across the state gathered for the Maryland Association of Boards of Education Annual Conference. The event provided the opportunity for attendees to participate in workshops covering topics such as education law, legislative advocacy, and effective governance. Participants also had the opportunity to learn best practices from fellow board members and school system staff regarding community engagement, social media, and curriculum.

During the Presidents Dinner, Donna L. Brightman, member of the Washington County Board of Education, was sworn in as president of the association for 2016-2017. Other officers inducted with her were Joy Schaefer, Frederick County, as president-elect; Charles McDaniels, Jr., Baltimore County,  as treasurer; and Nancy Reynolds, Harford County, as secretary.

In her first message to members, newly elected president Donna Brightman stated, “Board members come from diverse backgrounds and life experiences. We must use that collective wisdom to serve the goal of a strong public education system, rather than allow politics and personalities to divide us, and our mission.” Urging all members to become involved in the important work of their association, and to avail themselves of the services provided, Brightman emphasized “local board members work tirelessly to put all students first, and MABE works diligently to put all members first so they can perform their jobs at the highest level.”