Federal Funds To Help Cushion January Storm’s County Costs

Maryland’s request for a major disaster declaration following January’s winter storm has been approved, allowing many counties to seek federal reimbursement for storm response.

As described by the Maryland Emergency Management Agency, the decision for a disaster declaration comes after the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the Maryland Emergency Management Agency, and local jurisdictions throughout the state jointly conducted damage assessments last month.

Nineteen of Maryland’s twenty-four counties are included in the declaration and are eligible for aid: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George’s, Queen Anne’s, Washington, and Worcester Counties and the City of Baltimore.

The storm’s heavy snowfall resulted in large expenditures by the state and several counties. The Baltimore Sun writes,

As much as 35 inches of snow fell on parts of the state during the storm, and the state’s initial estimate identified more than $34 million in costs.

Montgomery County’s Executive expressed his gratitude for the additional assistance. From the County’s press release,

“I am pleased that the Federal government has found Montgomery County eligible for disaster aid, and I thank Governor Hogan for supporting our application,” said Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett. “The storm dumped more than three feet of snow in many parts of our County, putting a severe strain on our resources to plow 5,000 lane miles of residential and commercial streets.”

For more information, see Montgomery County Receives Major Disaster Declaration following January Winter Storm, MEMA’s press release, Maryland’s Request for a Major Disaster Declaration following January Winter Storm is Approved, and Obama signs Maryland disaster declaration for January storm from the Baltimore Sun.