Do You Know Your Cabinet Secretaries? This Guide Can Help!

Think you know your Maryland cabinet secretaries?  Can you identify them on sight?  Can you answer the following questions about them? (Answers at end of article)

(1) How many cabinet secretaries are there?

(2) How many secretaries were previously county elected officials in Maryland?

(3) Which secretary is serving in the same cabinet position for a second time?

(4) Which secretaries previously served in cabinet level positions in other states?

(5) Which secretary is the only person to have served as president of both MACo and the Maryland Municipal League?

For those who need a little help with the current cabinet, MACo has prepared a handy reference guide with photos, contact information, and job and biographical information of every cabinet member.

Do You Know Your Cabinet Secretaries? 2015 Guide

All photos and information in the Guide are from the Maryland Manual On-Line, a useful directory of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the state.  The Maryland Manual is maintained by the State Archives.

Almost all of the cabinet secretaries will be at the 2015 MACo Summer Conference next week and county officials can mingle with them at the Governor’s Cabinet Reception.

Learn more about MACo’s Summer Conference:

For a schedule of educational sessions at MACo’s Summer Conference, please view the Registration Brochure.

Questions? Contact Meetings & Events Director Virginia White.



(1) 20

(2) 2 – Secretary of Agriculture Joseph Bartenfelder (Baltimore County Council) and Secretary of Planning David Craig (Harford County Executive)

(3) Secretary of Veterans Affairs George Owings originally served in the same position from 2004 to 2007 under Governor Bob Ehrlich

 (4) State Superintendent of Schools Lillian Lowery (Delaware Secretary of Education); Secretary of the Environment  Benjamin Grumbles (Arizona Department of Environmental Quality Director); and Secretary of Transportation Pete Rahn (New Mexico Secretary of State Highway and Transportation Department, Missouri Department of Transportation Director)

(5) Secretary of Planning David Craig