Prince George’s Franklin Elected to Serve Second Term as Council Chair

Council Chairman Mel Franklin was unanimously reelected to lead the the Prince George’s County Council for a second term for the Legislative Year 2015. Council Member Derrick Davis was elected to serve as Vice Chair.

Prince George’s County press release announced

Chairman Franklin and Vice-Chair Davis will serve in Council leadership through December 1, 2015.

Chairman Franklin thanked his Council colleagues for again entrusting him with the “Gavel of Leadership.”

“To serve this honorable body for a second year as Chair of the Prince George’s County Council is truly humbling and is not a responsibility that I take lightly.  Colleagues please know that I have that same confidence, respect and admiration for each of you, and for the people of Prince George’s County. I know your decision was made with careful thought.   I accept this assignment with deep gratitude and I pledge to keep myself worthy of this privilege, continuing to provide leadership with integrity, and advancing an agenda that makes a great County even greater.”

To read the full press release, including the Prince George’s County 2015 Legislative committee leadership appointments, click here.