Montgomery and Prince George’s County Elected Officials Take Oath of Office

In separate ceremonies, Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett and Prince George’s County Executive Rushern Baker were sworn in to continue serving as county executive of their respective counties. As reported by the Washington Post,

Each Democratic county executive pledged to keep working to move his jurisdiction forward, despite challenges posed by a sluggish economic recovery and — though neither mentioned it — the arrival in late January of a Republican in the governor’s mansion.

“Right here and now, we must dispel any myths about a lack of a welcoming business environment,” Leggett told an audience of supporters and government officials at Richard Montgomery High School in Rockville. “I want us to usher in and foster a ‘culture of yes’ when it comes to doing business in Montgomery County.”

Baker listed securing state money for school construction and a new regional hospital center in Largo as among his top priorities. He said his goal was to help Prince George’s turn its economic potential into reality.

“As far as I’m concerned, we have been saying this county has potential for far too long,” Baker said, standing in front of a giant American flag at the County Administration Building in Upper Marlboro. “Our destiny is attainable and reachable. It is our time.”

Newly elected and reelected members of the county councils were also sworn in during the ceremony.

Prince George’s seated three new members — Deni Taveras (Hyattsville), Danielle Glaros (College Park) and Todd Turner (Bowie) — all filling the seats of term-limited predecessors.

In Montgomery, Sidney Katz (D-Rockville-Gaithersburg) was sworn in to replace retiring four-term council member Phil Andrews. Tom Hucker (Eastern County) took the oath of office for the seat that had been held by Cherri Branson.