Close Primary Election Results Decided

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Elections

After the final day of vote canvassing, primary election winners were announced following close races.

Curtis Beulah won the Republican nomination for Harford County Council District F by 26 votes against Monica Ann Worrell.  Read more about this close race in The Baltimore Sun.

Deni Taveras won the Democratic primary for Prince George’s County District 2 seat against Maryland State Delegate Doyle Niemann by six votes. Further coverage can be found in The Washington Post.

George Harman won the Republican primary for Baltimore County Executive against Tony Campbell by 18 votes. More about this story can be found in The Baltimore Sun.

Ted Elder won the Republican nomination for the District 4 Worcester County Commission seat as result of a 7-2 vote by the Worcester County Republican Central Committee.  Elder and his opponent, Kathryn Danko-Lord, tied in the primary election.  The final voting count had never resulted in a tie before and the Board of Elections instructed the committee members to decide, as there was no precedent. According to the article,

After a lengthy discussion, the committee, with the support of both candidates, opted to have its members vote using a ballot method. The votes from the members were opened and counted by the candidates, with Elder getting 7 and Danko-Lord 2.