General Assembly Rejects Stormwater Fee Repeal Legislation

A March 5 Capital-Gazette article reported on the General Assembly’s continuing rejection of bills that would repeal or exempt certain counties from the requirement to enact a stormwater remediation fee.

A House committee shot down a GOP proposal to repeal Maryland’s mandate that its 10 largest jurisdictions assess stormwater fees.

The House Environmental Matters Committee voted 14-7 to kill House Bill 50, a proposal sponsored by Dels. Wayne Norman, R-Harford, and Cathy Vitale, R-Severna Park.  …

Another repeal bill sponsored by Sen. Allan Kittleman, R-Howard, was killed by the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee.

Elsewhere, a bill that would have exempted Anne Arundel County from the mandate fell in the county’s Republican-controlled House delegation in February. A bill that would have exempted Frederick County failed as well.