Montgomery County Expands to Nine Early Voting Sites

As reported by the Gazette, the Montgomery County Board of Elections voted recently to increase the number of early voting sites from five to nine. From the article:

Chevy Chase, Damascus, Gaithersburg and Wheaton will get new sites to go along with the previously used sites in Burtonsville, Germantown, Rockville and Silver Spring. A second site was added in Silver Spring.

The sites were chosen from a list of 16 from around the county that met various criteria, such as being close to major roadways and with access to public transportation. The board debated the merits of various locations for more than an hour Monday, finally voting 3-2 to approve the list of nine that had been suggested.

Legislation, which passed during the 2013 session, authorizes the expansion of early voting locations.  Large counties, such as Montgomery, can expand to eight locations, with a ninth location being authorized if county officials approve.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: