County Officials Receive University of MD Certificate for Excellence in Governance

Del Vitale Speaking
Delegate Cathy Vitale congratulates the Academy Graduates

On Sunday, September 15, over 45 county and municipal officials and staff members were recognized and received certificates for completing the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance program. The Academy was founded by the Maryland Assocation of Counties (MACo), the Maryland Municipal League (MML), and the Local Government Insurance Trust (LGIT), and is run by the University of Maryland School of Public Policy.

The Academy is a voluntary certificate program whose requirements can be met by completing a set of required core and elective courses offered at MACo, MML, and LGIT events. By providing enhanced educational opportunities, the Academy trains informed and responsible local officials to give Maryland jurisdictions the leadership needed to meet the challenges of the 21st century. Specific objectives are (1) to increase understanding of local government and how it functions; (2) to promote high ethical standards in public service; (3) to provide an informational base for more informed policy making; (4) to develop capacity of local officials to govern effectively; and (5) to recognize local officials for their educational efforts. To learn more about the Academy, please view the Academy website.

As part of the graduation ceremony, the Honorable Cathy Vitale of the Maryland House of Delegates gave welcoming remarks. Delegate Vitale, herself a graduate of the Academy, commended the graduates on their hard work, thanked the graduates for their commitment to their fellow Marylanders, and reminded the graduates of the importance of collaboration in government and the continuing pursuit of training and education. Don Kettl, the Dean of the University’s School of Public Policy, issued certificates to the graduates and welcomed them as alumni of the Univeristy of Maryland. A reception followed the graduation ceremony.

2013 Academy Graduates

MACo congratulates the following county officials and staff for their completion of the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance certificate program:

Mr. Robert Bates, Legislative Analyst, Montgomery County

Mr. Stephen Brayman, Director of Human Resources, Charles County

Mrs. Tomeka Bumbry, Chief of Staff, Prince George’s County

The Honorable Madison Bunting, Jr., Commissioner, Worcester County

The Honorable Ruth Anne Callaham, Commissioner, Washington County

The Honorable Gregan Crawford, Commissioner, Garrett County

The Honorable Bob Culver, Councilmember,  Wicomico County

The Honorable Debra Davis, Esq., Commissioner, Charles County

The Honorable David Dunmyer, Commissioner, Queen Anne’s County

Ms. Michelle Ganjon, Senior Fiscal Analyst, Baltimore City

Ms. Deborah Hudson, Director of Fiscal and Administrative Services, Charles County

The Honorable Sheree Sample-Hughes, Councilmember, Wicomico County

Mr. William Hunt, Deputy Council Administrator, Prince George’s County

Mr. Maureen Lanigan, Assistant County Attorney, Wicomico County

The Honorable Merrill Lockfaw, Jr., Commissioner, Worcester County

The Honorable David Marks, Councilmember, Baltimore County

The Honorable Craig Mathies, Sr., Commissioner, Somerset County

The Honorable William Pickrum, Commissioner, Kent County

The Honorable Richard Price, Councilmember, Dorchester County

Mr. Thomas Rio, Director of General Services, Carroll County

The Honorable Virgil Shockley, Commissioner, Worcester County

Mr. William Shreve, Director of Public Works, Charles County

The Honorable Mary Kay Sigaty, Councilmember, Howard County

The Honorable Evan Slaughenhoupt, Jr., Commissioner, Calvert County

The Honorable Jennifer Terrasa, Councilmember, Howard County

The Honorable Karen  Toles,  Councilmember, Prince George’s County

The Honorable Ingrid Turner, Councilmember, Prince George’s County

The Honorable Jerry Walker, Councilmember, Anne Arundel County

Mr. Brian Westfall, Director of Human Resources, Allegany County