Anne Arundel Council Seat Changes Following Court Ruling

Following recent court proceedings regarding the Anne Arundel County Council’s legislation to vacate the District 1 seat previously held by Council Member Daryl Jones, the Council seat will change hands once again.  Monday night, Peter Smith, who had been selected to serve in the seat, resigned his position and cleared the way for the return of Mr. Jones.

From coverage in the Baltimore Sun (limited free views available):

Anne Arundel County Councilman Peter Smith resigned Monday night, allowing his ousted predecessor, Daryl Jones, to return to office after a court ruling determined his removal had been improper.

“I do this for the sake of the institution and my whole-hearted belief in the judicial system. The legal system has spoken,” said Smith, a Severn Democrat.

The Court of Appeals ruled in July that Jones should not have been removed. A Circuit Court judge followed last Friday with a ruling that the council bill approving his ouster was null and void.

Read the full article online.




Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties