Gambling Study Group Named, Possible Special Session July 9

Governor O’Malley, Senate President Miller and House Speaker Busch announced the names of an 11 member work group yesterday to study to expansion of gambling in Maryland.  If consensus is reached, a special session will be called for July 9 to discuss and vote on casino legislation. From the press release:

John Morton, III, has been selected to chair the Work Group. Mr. Morton, a senior business and financial services executive, brings extensive experience to the work group having served as CEO and President of three major financial institutions, as a board member for six public corporations and as a leader in business, professional, educational and civic organizations.

The other members of the Work Group are:

  • Governor’s Chief of Staff Matthew Gallagher
  • Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management T. Eloise Foster
  • Secretary of Appointments Jeanne Hitchcock
  • Senior Policy and Legislative Advisor Joseph Bryce
  • Senator Edward Kasemeyer
  • Senator Nathaniel McFadden
  • Senator Richard Madaleno
  • Delegate Sheila Hixson
  • Delegate Peter Hammen
  • Delegate Frank Turner

Alternate members of the group are Senator Douglas Peters, Senator George Edwards, Senator Robert Garagiola, Delegate Dereck Davis, Delegate Robert Costa, and Delegate Eric Luedtke.

The work group plans to hold its first meeting on June 1 at 10:00 a.m. in Room 101 of the House Office Building.  Two additional meetings have been tentatively scheduled for June 12 and June 20.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.