Six Maryland Schools Receive Blue Ribbon Designation

On Tuesday, Interim state Superintendent Bernard Sadusky announced that six schools in Maryland have been selected by the U.S. Department of Education as 2012 Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools.  The Baltimore Sun reports that the selected elementary schools were Crofton Meadows in Anne Arundel County; Woodholme in Baltimore County, Ring Factory in Harford County; Rachel Carson in Montgomery County; Whitehall in Prince George’s County; and Pocomoke in Worcester County.

The Maryland Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes schools that have demonstrated sustained high performance and/or significant improvement in student achievement in mathematics and reading as measured by Maryland State Department of Education.

Each Blue Ribbon School receives a monetary award, plaque, Maryland Blue Ribbon Flag and an Honors Reception and Dinner.  Schools also receive a school-wide pizza party and a package from SMART Technologies.

(Note: The Baltimore Sun maintains a limited free view policy for online content)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.