Six Counties to File for Waiver from Maintenance of Effort Requirement

According to the April 1 edition of the Gazette, Anne Arundel, Kent, Montgomery, Queen Anne’s, Talbot and Wicomico counties will petition the State Board of Education for a waiver from their FY 12 Maintenance of Effort requirement (MOE).  Today is the deadline for counties to submit their requests to the State Board of Education.

Anne Arundel County is seeking to have $15 million in funding for the local school system forgiven — about 1.5 percent of the school system’s $968 million budget.

In seeking the waiver, County Executive Leopold said the maintenance of effort law is outdated and does not factor in excess funds the county contributed in the past. Over the past decade, Anne Arundel County has exceeded maintenance of effort funding levels by $208 million, he said.

Montgomery and Wicomico counties received waivers from the Maryland State Board of Education this fiscal year. The waiver allowed the counties to cut $138.8 million and $7.4 million in education spending respectively without sacrificing an increase in state aid. Dorchester, Frederick and Talbot counties formally applied for waivers for this fiscal year, but withdrew their requests prior to official consideration by the state board.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.