Calvert Commissioners Establish Redistricting Committee

The Calvert County Board of Commissioners recently authorized the formation of a 9 member redistricting committee.  As reported by Southern Maryland Newspapers Online: The committee, modeled closely after a committee established by the board in 2002 after the 2000 census was taken, will consist of nine members, of which five will be appointed by the commissioners, one will be appointed by the Calvert County Democratic Central Committee, one by the Republican Central Committee, one by…

New Section on Redistricting Added to General Assembly Website

The Maryland General Assembly website now features a section on the state's redistricting and reapportionment process currently underway.  Maryland is required to redraw its congressional and legislative districts every 10 years, following the census to maintain equal population.  Visitors to the site can find everything from the basics of redistricting, to comprehensive data maps, to a schedule for the statewide process. Redistricting and Reapportionment website

Close Menu