Spiegel Tapped to Fill Vacant District 17 House Seat

The Montgomery County’s Democratic Central Committee selected Gaithersburg City Council Member Ryan Spiegel to fill a vacant seat in District 17 of the Maryland House of Delegates.

Spiegel fills the seat vacated when Governor Moore appointed former Delegate Kumar Barve to serve on the Maryland Public Service Commission.

Spiegel has served on the Gaithersburg City Council since 2007. In addition, Spiegel served as the 2019-2020 Maryland Municipal League president. His nomination is now under consideration by Governor Moore, who has 15 days to make the appointment official.

“I’m really humbled and honored tonight,” Spiegel told the central committee following the vote.

Stay tuned to Conduit Street for more information.