Charles County’s Reuben B. Collins II to Serve as Transportation Planning Board Chair

Charles County Commissioner President and MACo Board Member Reuben Collins was elected to serve as the 2023 chair of the Transportation Planning Board

Reuben B. Collins, IIAt its December 21 meeting, the National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board (TPB) approved its slate of officers for 2023, electing Reuben B. Collins II, President of the Charles County Board of County Commissioners, to serve as TPB Chair. Collins is also a MACo board member. While he has served as TPB Vice-Chair since 2021, he will be the first Chair from Charles County.

The TPB is the federally designated metropolitan planning organization for the region. Working with local, state, regional, and federal partners, the TPB coordinates future plans, provides data and analysis to decision makers, and manages regional programs to advance safety, land-use coordination, and more. In order to receive federal funding, transportation projects and programs must be included in the TPB’s regional plans. The TPB is staffed by the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG).

Collins commented:

‘I am honored to have been selected by my peers on the TPB to serve as its chair in 2023. As the first Charles County official to serve in this position, I will work to ensure all voices—from those living in the core of our region to its furthest boundaries—are represented in our planning initiatives as we work to build an inclusive, accessible transportation network for all.’

Collins will be joined by District of Columbia Councilmember Christina Henderson and Fairfax County Board Member James Walkinshaw, elected to serve as joint Vice-Chairs for the TPB. They will serve one-year terms, running from January 1 to December 31.

Read the full press release.