Deadline is 10/21 for MACo’s County Champion Award Nominations – Submit Yours Today!

MACo’s County Champion Award series celebrates innovative county programs and county leaders who demonstrate extraordinary public service. Nominations are due October 21, 2022.

Every year, MACo – in partnership with the University of Maryland School of Public Policy and the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance – seeks to celebrate those county leaders and programs making exceptional contributions to Maryland counties.

MACo will announce award winners in November and make award presentations at our Winter Conference Awards Banquet on January 4, 2023.

Two award categories are offered – the Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award and the County Innovations Award.

The Marilyn J. Praisner Public Service Award was established to honor the legacy of former Montgomery County Council Member, Maryland Association of Counties (MACo) Past President, and beloved public servant Marilyn J. Praisner. The award recognizes those current or former elected county officials who have demonstrated outstanding service to a county, his or her constituents, and MACo.

The County Innovation Award was established to recognize superb and leading-edge county programs that improve overall quality-of-life and service delivery for a county’s residents. The Honorable Ingrid Turner, Prince George’s County Circuit Court Associate Judge, MACo Past President, and former Prince George’s County Council Member instituted this award during her term as MACo President in 2012. The award is now a collaboration of the University of Maryland School of Public Policy and MACo, with support from the Local Government Insurance Trust. This award will be given to 1 rural and 1 urban county.

Award nominations should be completed and submitted to the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance through the University of Maryland School of Public Policy no later than October 21, 2022. Details are included in the application links below.

Please note that nominations will ONLY be accepted through the online forms listed below. Please do not send paper, fax, or email nominations. Nominations are meant to be sent by individuals and need not be from the county government itself.

Please follow the nomination instructions carefully:

Contact Virginia White with questions.