Changes Ahead for MACo Leadership, Following Primary Outcomes

The 2022 primary elections will, as is often the case, drive change in the leadership of MACo – here are the effects on current association officers and board members.

MACo’s elected leadership, including a slate of officers who guide the operations of the association, will be affected by the results of this week’s primary elections. Here are the outcomes for all the current officers.

(Friday updates have been added, where the additional returns are meaningful)

MACo leaders Laura Everngam-Price, Sharon Green Middleton, and MC Keegan-Ayer join Governor Hogan at a MACo Conference event in Worcester County.


2022 MACo President Laura Everngam-Price did not seek re-election, following 12 years as a Talbot County Council Member.

First Vice President Calvin Ball will face former County Executive Allan Kittleman in the November general election for Howard County Executive.

Second Vice President Johnny Olszewski, Jr. won his primary for re-election as Baltimore County Executive, and will face former Delegate Pat McDonough in the general election.

Secretary Jack Wilson is modestly ahead in a very close primary for Queen Anne’s County Commissioner. Through election day, Wilson held a 42 vote lead in District 1, less than one percent of the votes cast. The race is too close to call, and will be resolved in the days ahead with processing of all mail-in and provisional ballots. The first day of returns added one net vote to Wilson’s edge.

Treasurer M.C. Keegan-Ayer, the current Frederick Council President, trails in her re-election bid, in Frederick County’s District 3. She is behind by roughly 150 votes, following the first wave of mail-in ballots.

MACo’s immediate Past President Wilbur Levengood appears to have been defeated in the Caroline County Commissioners race, even after the latest ballot counting he trails the third place finisher by more than 100 votes, for the three at-large seats.

Board Members

Among sitting Board members, several have advances toward re-election: Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks, Charles County Commission President Reuben Collins, Dorchester County Council Member Lenny Pfeffer, St. Mary’s County Commisioners President Randy Guy, and Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman.

Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich remains amidst a very close primary race, that likely will not be fully resolved until all ballots are processed and counted. The first wave of mail-in ballots favored Elrich, and made an already close contest even more so, with many more mail-in ballots yet to be processed.

Harford County Executive Barry Glassman was successful in the primary for State Comptroller, and Garrett County Commissioner Jim Hinebaugh advanced in his primary for State Delegate. Carroll County Commissioner Stave Wantz appears to have lost in his multi-way primary for State Delegate, though that race remains close enough to potentially be upended by the final ballots to be tallied.

Baltimore City Council Member Sharon Green Middleton did not stand for election in 2022, as the Council is on the presidential election cycle, rather than the gubernatorial – she was re-elected in 2020.

Past President

Also noteworthy for MACo faithful, longtime county leader and 2016 MACo President John Barr will advance in the Washington County Commissioners election, after receiving the fourth-highest vote total in the at-large election. The final vote totals will be sorted in the days ahead, but the top five finishers seem apparent from the totals in hand.

= = = = =

Please note that vote counts are incomplete. Election officials still have to count mail-in and provisional ballots. For context, more than 500,000 Marylanders requested a mail-in ballot for this year’s primary, and those remaining votes are likely to be material to many contested races. However, local boards of elections cannot begin to canvass mail-in votes until Thursday, July 21. Therefore, for editorial purposes, MACo coverage will describe any races where the top runner-up remains within 10 percent of the apparent winner(s) as “pending” and those results as “apparent.”

MACo’s election coverage and analysis rely on unofficial results published by the State Board of Elections. Official results will follow after a full accounting of pending votes. Given delays in processing an unprecedented number of mail-in ballots, MACo advises readers that any close unofficial results are subject to realignment in the days ahead.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties