St. Mary’s Recognizes Its Healthcare Heroes

During National Public Health Week (April 3rd to April 9th), the St. Mary’s County Health Department recognized several staff members who provided exceptional public health services to the community.

St. Mary’s County’s Health Officer, Dr. Meena Brewster, commended and congratulated her team members in a press release:

“Public health serves a critical role in our everyday lives, even if much of what we do is working in the background to keep our community population healthy,” stated Dr. Brewster. “National Public Health Week is an opportunity for us to recognize all those public health professionals who work tirelessly to protect health and promote the well-being of entire communities. I am especially grateful for the perseverance, compassion, and leadership demonstrated by our SMCHD team members as they have navigated the historic pandemic challenge of the past two years while maintaining other vital public health services for our county. Congratulations to this year’s award recipients – their dedicated public service inspires all of us.”

Awards were provided for several different categories:

Excellence in Public Health Award, the topmost SMCHD honor. This year’s recipient has demonstrated many years of outstanding service to agency and community, strong leadership in developing new public health initiatives, and took on additional leadership responsibilities to support the local COVID-19 response:

  • Angela Cochran

Certificates of Meritorious Public Health Service provided to multiple SMCHD team members who have supported different aspects of the SMCHD COVID-19 pandemic response.

Public Health Leadership Award for those providing leadership on the COVID-19 incident command team this past year:

  • Ruby Abaka-Yankson
  • Japan Bhalja
  • Bernadette Day
  • Anne Harvey-Diggs
  • Heather Moritz
  • Alicia Nelson
  • Jeanna Plants
  • Kim Robertson
  • Katherine Shirey

Public Health Leadership Award for exceptional leadership in addressing the COVID-19 pandemic through a variety of surges, coordination of vaccine and testing services, and other COVID-19 operations and planning responsibilities:

  • Quinn Alsheimer

Public Health Leadership Award for outstanding leadership in developing new programs to advance maternal child health outcomes:

  • Ashley Milcetic

COVID Courage Award for occupational health support to prevent the spread of COVID-19 across SMCHD’s frontline workforce; and for team members who have been heavily involved in outreach and getting COVID-19 information and resources out to our community:

  • Suha Ansari
  • Johnn Cave
  • Angela Horn
  • Jaclyn Johnson
  • Marcus Johnson
  • David Jones
  • Laila Moasser
  • Maria Reynolds
  • Kelly Richards
  • Kim Robertson
  • Jacqueline Wells

Outstanding Service Award for the SMCHD Infectious Disease Control team for their  resilience in managing hundreds of infectious disease outbreaks during the past year:

  • Jayme Alsheimer
  • Stephanie Angle
  • Mary Day
  • Lisa Early
  • Natalie Evans
  • Beverly Guy
  • Edwin Howell
  • Melinda Marchlewicz
  • Vickie May
  • Breanna Peters
  • Rebecca Smith
  • Abigail Theofollis
  • Dominique Tilley
  • Katie Tippett

Outstanding Performance Award for the SMCHDInformation Technology team for their coordination and leadership in handling local impacts from the state’s cybersecurity event:

  • Vonta Day
  • Cindi Murphy
  • Kim Wildoner

Innovation Award for the SMCHD Violence, Injury and Trauma (VIT) team for launching new efforts to advance youth mentoring, data access, an improved understanding of the impact of adverse childhood experiences and a variety of other VIT prevention/mitigation measures:

  • Stephanie Freeman
  • Shannon Heaney
  • Jennifer Martinez
  • Ashley Milcetic
  • Nanthida Nanthavong

Read the full press release.