Larry Johnson, Georgia Commissioner, Takes the Lead as NACo President

Larry Johnson, Georgia commissioner, takes the lead as NACo president.

DeKalb County, Ga. Commissioner Larry Johnson was sworn in as NACo’s new president Monday afternoon at NACo’s 2021 Annual Business Meeting in Prince George’s County, Md. Johnson began his journey to the top spot when he was elected second vice president of NACo in 2019 at the Annual Conference in Clark County, Nev.

“When I was growing up, I couldn’t imagine being here today,” Johnson said in his acceptance speech. “I’m the product of two teenage parents and sometimes it seemed like the world was against me. But I never would give up. I wish my mom could be here to see me now.”

NACo’s new executive team, elected July 12 at the 2021 Annual Business Meeting in Prince George’s County, Md. are (l-r): Immediate Past President Gary Moore, Boone County, Ky. judge/executive; President Larry Johnson, commissioner, DeKalb County, Ga.; First Vice President Denise Winfrey, board member, Will County, Ill. and Second Vice President Mary Jo McGuire, commissioner, Ramsey County, Minn.
Photo by Denny Henry


According to a NACo press release:

Delegates at the association’s 86th Annual Conference elected Johnson to lead the executive team along with Boone County, Ky. Judge Executive Gary Moore, immediate past president; Will County, Ill. board member Denise Winfrey, who becomes NACo’s first vice president and Ramsey County, Minn. Commissioner Mary Jo McGuire, who was elected second vice president in a three-way election.

Johnson laid out his vision for his year ahead in a speech to county officials. “I am pleased to announce that I will focus on the theme ‘Counties thrive,” Johnson said. “We’ll focus on six areas,” he said, noting that the THRIVE acronym stands for: Technology, Health, Readiness, Infrastructure, Vulnerable Populations and Economic Opportunity.

“I hope you all will join me because this is not a one-man show,” Johnson said. “NACo, we’re going to go on this ride together.”

Read the full press release along with the announcement of NACo committee chairs.