Cecil DPW Manager Elected Chair of State Soil Conservation Committee

Cecil County Department of Public Works (DPW) Chief of the Stormwater Management Van Funk has been elected to serve as Chair of the State Soil Conservation Committee.

The State Soil Conservation Committee provides guidance to the Maryland Department of Agriculture on issues such as soil conservation and water quality policy. The Committee is made up of members from various state departments and regional representatives. The Committee’s upcoming meeting is open to the public and will focus on soil conservation and water quality program implementation and policy development. As Chair of the Committee Funk will preside at committee meetings and lead its members in advising the Department on policy matters.

“Van is deeply committed to protecting Cecil County’s natural resources which are so critical to its economy and quality of life,” said Scott Flanigan, County Director of Public Works. “I know he will represent Cecil County well as Chair of the State Soil Conservation Committee.”

According to Cecil County:

Mr. Funk has been employed by the Cecil County Department of Public Works since 2006, and has been Chief of DPW’s Stormwater Management Division since 2016. He has served as a member of the Board of the Cecil Soil Conservation District since 2006, and has served as the Central Region representative (representing Baltimore, Harford, Montgomery, Howard, and Cecil Soil Conservation Districts) to the State Soil Conservation Committee since 2019. He took over as Committee Chair on June 18, 2020.