Prince George’s Council Elects Turner to Serve Second Term as Chair

The Prince George’s County Council this week unanimously re-elected Council Member Todd M. Turner to serve a second term as Council chair. At-Large Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, II was unanimously elected to serve as Council vice-chair.

“I look forward to working with my colleague, At-Large Council Member Calvin S. Hawkins, II,” Turner said. Thank you for accepting the challenge of leadership. Your experience and team spirit will be critical components to achieving our legislative goals in the coming year.”

According to a press release:

The newly-confirmed Council leadership team presided over the first session of Legislative Year 2020 on Tuesday, December 3, 2019. Chair Turner and Vice-Chair Hawkins will serve in Council leadership through December 1, 2020.

Chair Turner thanked his colleagues for again entrusting him with the Council’s Gavel of Leadership and welcomed his new leadership partner. Chair Turner also addressed the collaboration needed tor the County’s continued success.

“We will continue to build on the strong collaborations we have established with the County Executive Angela Alsoboorks, state lawmakers, regional and municipal government leaders, our communities, businesses, nonprofits, and other County stakeholders. These partnerships are already bettering the lives of our residents and move us closer to the coveted signature wins for Prince George’s County.”

Council Chair Turner, a resident of Bowie, was reelected to serve a second four-year term on the County Council in the November 2018 General Election. Vice-Chair Hawkins of Upper Marlboro was elected to serve his first term on the Prince George’s County Council in the 2018 General Election.

Please visit for on-demand video of the Gavel Exchange Ceremony, or to access Gavel Exchange photographs and speeches.

Read the full press release for more information.

Close Menu
%d bloggers like this: