Academy Honors 92 Graduates for “Excellence in Local Governance”

The Academy for Excellence in Local Governance held is graduation ceremony on the College Park campus this week, honoring 92 county and municipal officials who  completed the extensive coursework toward their certificate.

Frederick County Council Member M.C. Keegan-Ayer (center) receives her Academy certificate at the 2019 graduation, at the College Park School of Public Policy

The University of Maryland, MACo, and the Maryland Municipal League have jointly sponsored the Academy for Excellence in Local Governance for years. The effort promotes local officials to seek out expansive training in topics relevant to their service, and awards a certificate upon the program’s completion.

On September 29, the Academy’s graduation bestowed 92 officials with their certificate of completion. The event was marked by an introduction from from the Univeristy’s School of Public Policy faculty leaders, and comments from Gaithersburg City Council Member Ryan Speigel, a former Academy graduate and current President of the Maryland Municipal League.

Want to learn more about the Academy? Visit the University website for details.

Are you a county elected official? MACo will help underwrite your registration fee – contact Virginia White, MACo’s Member Services Director, for help with the signup.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties