2019 Maryland Preservation Award Nominations are Open

The Maryland Historical Trust is now accepting nominations for the 2019 Maryland Preservation Awards! The deadline to submit nominations is November 9, 2018.

What is the Maryland Preservation Awards?

The Maryland Preservation Awards, presented annually by the Board of Trustees of the Maryland Historical Trust, are the highest level of recognition for historic preservation, heritage education and community development projects in the state. Since 1975, the Maryland Historical Trust has honored the outstanding preservation efforts of more than 250 individuals and projects throughout the state.

What are the award categories?

Leadership and Service

Awards presented for Leadership and Service recognize individuals and organizations for laudable activities or accomplishments that advance the public’s appreciation, understanding, and involvement in historic preservation or archeology in Maryland.

Education and Community Engagement

Awards presented for Education and Community Engagement recognize outstanding achievements by individuals, organizations, government agencies, and others in developing and producing projects and materials that educate and engage the public with Maryland’s past.

Project Excellence

Project Excellence awards are presented to property owners, project sponsors, contractors, and other entities for restoration or rehabilitation projects of all sizes, scopes, and on all types of properties. The design, materials, and workmanship of honored projects must demonstrate superlative historic preservation standards.


Stewardship Awards recognize outstanding effort and intent toward the maintenance and preservation of historic properties by individuals, businesses, organizations, and government agencies of all types and sizes. These awards acknowledge the hard work, time, effort, money, and dedication that are often required to maintain and preserve historically significant buildings and sites.

How can I learn more or nominate?

Visit Maryland Preservation Awards landing page.