New House of Delegates Leadership Unveiled

Maryland Reporter article (2018-07-19) reported that Maryland House of Delegates Speaker Michael Busch has made major leadership changes to the House as a result of recent primary results. Key changes include:

  • Delegate Luke Clippinger (Baltimore City) becomes chair of the Judiciary Committee
  • Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary (Howard County) becomes vice-chair of the Judiciary Committee
  • Delegate Eric Bromwell (Baltimore County) becomes vice-chair of the Economic Matters Committee
  • Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk ( Prince George’s and Anne Arundel Counties) becomes vice-chair of the Health and Government Operations Committee
  • Delegate Kathleen Dumais (Montgomery County) becomes Majority Leader

The article included the full text of Busch’s announcement. Here are Busch’s thoughts on the appointments of Dumais and Clippinger:

“There was no better choice for House Majority Leader than Kathleen [Dumais] leading us in to the next term,” said Speaker Busch. “Kathleen has proven herself to be a consensus builder and is one of the hardest working members in the House of Delegates – often working from dawn until dusk. I am confident she will bring energy and focus to the Majority Leader position.” …

“This is the first change for leadership in the House Judiciary Committee in 25 years and Luke [Clippinger] is the right person for the job,” said Speaker Busch. “Criminal justice policy is evolving more rapidly every year and I am pleased to name an experienced practitioner to lead this committee for the next term. Luke has proven himself time and again as having the ability to work with people from all backgrounds and bring a common sense, forward-thinking approach to policy issues.”

The article also included additional appointments and subcommittee chair announcements.