Terrasa Advances to District 13 House General Election

Source: Maryland State Archives

In a four-way Democratic primary race for District 13, Howard County Councilwoman Jen Terrasa joins incumbent Delegates Shane Pendergrass and Vanessa Atterbeary in advancing to the general election.

Atterbeary led the race capturing a total of 10,508 votes or 32.7% of the vote. Pendergrass and Terrasa came in second and third with 30.3% and 27.6% of the vote.

Councilwoman Terrasa was elected to the Howard County Council in November 2006 to represent Howard County’s 3rd District, which includes Allview, North Laurel, Savage, Guilford, and portions of Jessup as well as the villages of Kings Contrivance and Owen Brown in Columbia. Terrasa is an active member of MACo and has served on the Legislative Committee and the Education Subcommittee.

Terrasa, Pendergrass, and Atterbeary will face Republican candidate Chris Yates in the November general election. Yates was unopposed in the Primary Election.

MACo’s election coverage and analysis relies, as always, on unofficial results published by the State Board of Elections. Official results will follow, after a full accounting of pending ballots. Given the larger-than-usual expected number of provisional ballots (which would not be included in the unofficial vote total), readers are advised that any close unofficial results are subject to realignment in the days ahead.