USDA Offers Disaster Relief to 6 Eastern Shore Counties

A notice in the Maryland Farm Bureau’s Government Relations Bulletin (Edition #2, 2017-06-15) announced that the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is providing disaster relief for several Maryland and Delaware Counties for periods of drought and rains during 2016. From the notice:

USDA is providing disaster relief in Delaware and Maryland from the drought of June 1, 2016 – Sept 29, 2016 and excessive rains from Sept 29 – Oct 10, 2016. USDA disaster declaration for Delaware includes the following contiguous counties in Maryland:

o Caroline
o Dorchester
o Kent
o Queen Anne’s
o Wicomico
o Worcester

Qualifying farmers have 8 months from the date of Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue’s disaster declaration (May 16, 2017) to apply to their local Farm Service Agency (FSA) for emergency loans or assistance .

Useful Links

USDA Disaster Declaration Letter

FSA Contact Information (By County)