Local Elections Prompt Changes to Education Association Leadership

As a result of local elections, Joy Schaefer of the Frederick County Board of Education will assume the presidency of the Maryland Association of Boards of Education. 

Joy Schaefer of Frederick County is President of MABE.

In October, Donna L. Brightman was sworn in as the President of the Maryland Association of Boards of Education (MABE). Brightman, however, lost her seat on the Washington County Board of Education in the recent elections creating a vacancy in the lead MABE post. Schaeffer has also joined the Kirwan Commission as a representative of MABE.

As reported by the Maryland Association of Boards of Education:

. . . According to MABE Bylaws, the president-elect assumes the chair, and other officers are elected by the current board of directors.

Joy Schaefer, Frederick County, was elected president-elect by the MABE membership at the business meeting during their Annual Conference in October. She assumed the presidency of MABE as of December 6, 2016.

Schaefer was first elected to the Frederick Board of Education in 2012, and re-elected in 2016. She has been involved with MABE in various capacities, including completing board development programs Leadership I and II, and serving on several committees. She most recently served a year as MABE secretary, and two years as the chair of MABE’s Legislative Committee.

According to MABE, other vacancies were filled by appointment of the president with the approval of the board of directors:

  • Charles McDaniels, Jr., Baltimore County, president-elect;
  • Nancy Reynolds, Harford County, treasurer;
  • Martha James-Hassan, Baltimore City, secretary; and
  • New board of directors members
    • Michael Durso, Montgomery County, and
    • Laura Runyeon, Harford County.

For more information, see the Maryland Association of Boards of Education.