Apply for the 2017 RWJF Culture of Health Prize – Submissions Due November 3

The National Association of Counties (NACo) encourages communities to apply for the Culture of Health Prize.

Applications are now open for the 2017 RWJF Culture of Health Prize. An annual award presented by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the RWJF Culture of Health Prize honors communities that are beacons of hope and progress for healthier people, families and places.

In 2017, up to 10 winners will each receive a $25,000 cash prize and the chance to share their accomplishments and their stories with the nation. Communities—urban and rural, tribal, large, small and in between—are invited to apply.

To learn more about the prize, selection criteria, application process and to see the stories about previous winners, visit The deadline is November 3, 2016.

Prize Criteria:

  • Defining health in the broadest possible terms
  • Committing to sustainable systems changes and policy-oriented long-term solutions
  • Cultivating a shared and deeply-held belief in the importance of equal opportunity for health
  • Harnessing the collective power of leaders, partners, and community members
  • Securing and making the most of valuable resources
  • Measuring and sharing progress and results

For more information, visit