Maryland Primary Wrap-up: Van Hollen, Szeliga, Raskin, Brown Win Contested Races

Across Maryland, multiple political races were hotly contested in yesterday’s primary elections.

For the U.S. Senate seat being vacated by Barbara Mikulski’s retirement, sitting Congressman Chris Van Hollen (D-MD8) prevailed in a hard-fought primary over Congresswoman Donna Edwards (D-MD4). In the general election, he will face current House of Delegates Minority Whip Kathy Szeliga, who won a multi-way republican primary for the role.

The two most closely-watched and heavily contested congressional elections were in those districts being vacated by Van Hollen and Edwards – while all the other members of Maryland’s congressional Delegation earned easy primary wins.

In Van Hollen’s District 8, State Senator Jamie Raskin won over strong competition from a range of candidates, including two well-funded and organized political newcomers. In Edwards’ District 4, former Lieutenant Governor Anthony Brown won a close race over former Prince George’s State’s Attorney Glenn Ivey and curent Delegate Joseline Pena-Melnyk, among other candidates.

For a full wrap-up of Maryland results, see the Washington Post’s run-down, or visit the State Board of Elections website for full details.

Michael Sanderson

Executive Director Maryland Association of Counties